Monday, September 24, 2007

Upon further review, Francis had possession and was in bounds

By Mike Gibson
File this under the letter N.
For no shit, Sherlock.
However, according to the New Haven Register, the Temple Owls have been told by MAC officials that, yes, Bruce Francis did have one foot inbounds and possession on the game-winning catch against UConn and that, yes, Temple should have won the game and that, yes, Big East replay official Jack Cramer was wrong in not overturning the call.
All of this was done in an official review of the play by the MAC, who had their officials view it from every possible angle, including a shot from the "other" side of the field that clearly showed Francis had possesion all the way.
Interesting, though, in that it puts the Big East in a bit of a quandry.
Now the people in charge of the crew on the field are saying they were wrong in not getting the call right.
That means that the replay guy got the call wrong.
Don't hold your breath waiting for the Big East Conference to admit that.


Breezy said...

Hi Temple! You guys got SCREWED! I feel your pain. We play you guys a week from Saturday. GO HUSKIES!

Temple Football Forever said...

One of the many Huskies' fans who came on here admitting Owls got screwed, albeit the first NIU Husky fan. I feel sorry for the Temple kids who drove the length of the field in the final two minutes, got an Immaculate Reception and then the blind replay judge robbed them of a win.